A Hypocrite Lying Within Lies

The Odds Against Us

We all get one life. It’s a terrible truth and an absolutely amazing opportunity. The reality of the situation is that you and I are incredibly lucky to even be alive. If you could go back in time and interact and change what exactly your biological parents are doing at any given moment for even the slightest bit, the odds of you being born are slim to none. As weird as it sounds, each and every one of us are astronomically lucky to even exist; so lucky that I had to use the word astronomically to describe it, even though that doesn’t technically make sense. We are all given an amazing opportunity to live even though the numbers are all pointed towards the direction that if given a million other chances, we probably wouldn’t be conceived even once. We. Get. To. Live. We really shouldn’t even be alive but look, here we are, alive and breathing. Seems ironic that we throw such a precious opportunity away, doesn’t it?

Even in the earliest years of our youth, we were taught how to walk, talk and be who we wanted to be. If you asked a hundred different people what the meaning of life is, you’d probably get a hundred different answers. We all have our views on the world; some people want to be rich and famous, others want to change the world for the better, some want to explore other worlds altogether. We’re all different, nothing can change that. Each and every one of us are unique and special in our own way, with our own unique future ahead of us. But the real question that I think we all have thought about is: What is my future going to be like?

And The Gears Turn

Everyone dreams of being something; not a single person in the world grows up wanting to fail. That tiny piece of our mind that always talks about writing a novel, or inventing the world’s latest and greatest item? It lives within all of us. No matter how young or old you are, we all have that beautiful, fantasy-like dream that we all believe that we can still attain. No matter how grim our situation got, we always told our self “I can still do this.” And the funny thing is… you can still do whatever it is you dreamed of doing. Everything that you and I had ever wished for is easily still in our reach, no matter what situation we are in. What really comes down to it however, is actually attaining it.

Now you may be thinking: “I’ll never be a famous basketball player” or “I’ll never be a world class inventor,” and the only thing that I can say to you right now is stop thinking like that right now. I do not care how cliché and stereotypical it sounds, dreams are never out of reach until you say that they are! When you say you can’t do something, you really can’t. By you telling yourself that you have no possible way of being able to achieve something, you have murdered all possibilities of actually getting it accomplished and that is not how you fulfill those dreams of yours.

One of my favorite books that I’ve read about getting prepared for life was Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens by Robert Kiyosaki, and the reason why is because of one simple thing that may have changed my life forever. Kiyosaki said that you should never say can’t because it means you won’t be able to do it and what you should do is say how. Instead of “I can’t do this,” think of it like “How can I do this?” Can’t stop all possibilities. How makes you think about what it’s going to take to start achieving what you want. Because of this simple logic and way of thinking, I started believing that I, myself could achieve my own dreams. It didn’t matter how unrealistic my dreams were, I believed that I could accomplish anything as long as I worked my way towards it.

I now had the right mind set. However, my actions still fell short.

How To Be A Hypocrite

Going into my own life for a little bit, I knew I had the right mindset for accomplishing what I wanted to do in life. That was actually how this blog had came to be. With my friends, family and those who I look up too, I decided to create a blog about inspiring others to be the best that they can be, with the hopes that maybe if I preached inspirational posts, I would follow my own words and become what I had hoped others would become as well. I refused to publicize my blog to anyone that I knew in person due to the fact that I knew that a large amount of the things that I posted on my site were rather hypocritical, as I had a very hard time following my own words as well. Recently, I had realized that that was the wrong approach.

Tomorrow’s Sun That Laid Within the Clouds

I knew I needed to change. I knew that I wanted to change, but I didn’t know how to go about it. So instead of just telling myself that I wasn’t going to do this or that, I decided to go along with a new approach.

My teacher Dave Stuart jr. and I had recently had a conversation about gaming. I am a gamer; one that plays hours upon hours every day. By the end of the conversation, the moral of the whole thing was that the amount of time that I spent on gaming could be used on much more productive things. When I really looked at the amount of time I spent every week on gaming, I would realize just what I could be doing.

So I decided to do a science experiment.

I decided to go an entire week with a completely carefree attitude and play as much games as I want, and if I shirked off work, well, that was just too bad. The goal with this experiment was to record just how much time I really had spent on playing games, and to hopefully have a self induced epiphany so that I would change for the better and avoid what I had forced on to myself. The results were startling. I had spent a total of 28 hours over a 5 day period playing games.  That’s 28 hours over a total of 120 hours, 21 hours subtracted from school and roughly 6 hours of sleep a night, equaling up to about 28 hours of games played within the span of 69 hours worth of free time. While it may not sound like much to some, that was 28 hours of my life I spent in front of a computer when the majority of that time could have been used for studying, getting homework turned in and doing much more productive things.

The experiment allowed me to realize that I had been using that kind of time on gaming alone quite a few years of my life now. What new things would I know right now if I had spent those hours on more productive activities? I told myself that I don’t want to be who I am anymore, and I don’t want to preach to other people about how they can work hard to achieve their goals when I, myself am not following my own words.

Parting Clouds?

And now we come to today and the future. What will come as time goes on? I hope that I truly have become different for the sake of myself and for all the people who come to this blog for their daily dose of inspiration so that they, themselves can become something that they are proud of. I want nothing more than to prove myself and to be someone that I can be proud of.

I still believe that with hard work and dedication, anyone can do anything. The difference between when I said it then and saying it now is that I will follow those words.

I am taking the first steps to becoming successful and something great. Now you do the same.

About xeromindfulness

I'm nothing but a man looking to be something.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Something Big and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Hypocrite Lying Within Lies

  1. livingonchi says:

    I’m on board! I’m a hardcore gamer as well, and I’ve discovered that my life is better a thousand-fold over since quitting.

    Like

  2. davestuartjr says:

    Noah, I love our reference to the Kiyosaki book. I should try getting more copies of that donated to my classroom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

