Tomorrow? Today.

If not now, then when?

A saying that I’m sure that we’ve all heard at least once in our life and we probably just shrugged it off because it was some silly little thing that our parents or our teachers probably said to us to get something done. What’s funny is just how true that statement becomes when we realize just how much it can actually do for us when we take it to heart.

When I was a kid, I used to hate doing dishes. I absolutely despised it because we didn’t have a dishwasher and we had a big family so whenever our turn came up, we would have to wash everyone’s dishes, which usually took a little less than an hour. I would lay in my room, bored out of my mind purely because I didn’t want to do it and I dreaded the moment I would have to start.

Today, I don’t really care too much about doing the dishes. It’s not a terrible experience; sure it’s a little annoying at times and it can still take quite a while but I get it done without complaint. That’s because I realized two things: I would have to do it no matter what, so I might as well get it done right away, and because if I got my work done right away, I could enjoy myself later with the time I wasted avoiding it.

Turns out that that little saying didn’t just resolve my hatred for doing the dishes. Whenever I had to do homework, I would usually do it right after school because I knew I would have to get it done at some point and I also knew that if I got it done right away, I could mess around in the later hours of my evening. Homework, dishes, exercise, random events that no one wants to go to. They’re all things that we hate, but have to deal with and get done (usually when forced).

Cutting straight to the moral of the story. We as people need to realize that holding off on things is nothing but a waste of time, when getting work done is what brings that warm feeling in your gut. While we waste time avoiding things now while worrying about inevitably having to do them later is flat out stupid.

When are you going to get that homework done? When are you going to get out and go for a jog? You say you want to do it; you say you’ll get it done. So why is it that you always end up finishing homework at the last minute at the crack of dawn or putting off that 5 minute jog until tomorrow?

Tomorrow isn’t another today. Tomorrow is time and time is valuable. Stop saying tomorrow, and fulfill that dream today. That 5 minutes you just spent reading this? Well, spend the next 5 jogging. Spend the next 5 working. The only thing that we don’t have enough of in life is time. The clock’s ticking everybody. Let’s do something, shall we?

About xeromindfulness

I'm nothing but a man looking to be something.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Something Big and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomorrow? Today.

Leave a Reply

