Breaking a Habit

Sometimes in life, our odd habits get in the way of us becoming who we want to be. The sad realization behind it is that those habits can sometimes bring a lot of instantaneous joy to our lives, but we need to realize that sometimes those habits aren’t for the better.

Me for example: I have a bad gaming habit. It’s made me turn in late assignments, stay up late, and all-in-all, waste a lot of time. Don’t get me wrong, I play because it’s fun; it makes me happy and relieves stress that is obtained throughout the day. Problem is, I don’t necessarily gain anything from playing games so much. While maybe a half hour or an hour of playing is perfectly fine, I developed the habit of playing hours upon hours. It even got to the point where I played with my cousin for about 17 hours straight (in case that doesn’t sound like much, that leaves 7 hours left of a full day).

I realize that the astronomically long (it’s so bad that I had to use the word astronomically. Incorrectly I might add) amount of time that I spend gaming could be used on much more productive things in life such as: reading, studying, working on this blog, exercising, ect.

The thing is, I don’t really want to play games that much anymore. I want to break that habit to better myself and it’s pretty hard. I’ve broken several times and I keep getting angry at myself for giving in but the key point is that I keep trying! I know that I will break this habit one day and I believe that you can do it as well.

Sometimes, our habits hold us back. Sometimes, it’s better that we break those habits.

So I’m breaking a habit. Can you, for the better?

(On a completely side note: Anyone get the Linkin Park reference? No? Ok)

About xeromindfulness

I'm nothing but a man looking to be something.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Something Big and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breaking a Habit

  1. davestuartjr says:

    Speaking of video games, Noah, I think you’ll love this video. It will explode your mind and give you plenty to write and think about. You’ll also recognize the Thomas from some videos we’ve watched in class: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZy69GtoSCY

    Like

  2. Holly Rayl says:

    Thanks for your writing. Some of the things you say remind me of Leo Babauta. I find his writing very inspirational, and I think you would like it, as well. If you get a chance, check out his blog, http://zenhabits.net/

    Like

Leave a Reply

