The Start of the Journey

What was thought to be the first step:

I always told myself I was going to be something. I didn’t know what. I didn’t know how. I just knew that someway and somehow, I was going to be something. I wasn’t going to be the average Joe that worked every day for some paycheck they inevitably have to spend on food and taxes and insurance. I didn’t want to be that. I absolutely hated the idea of that. Day after day, doing the same thing. That wasn’t something that I wanted to do.

Well, I could tell myself I was going to be something all that I wanted, that wasn’t hard. But when I started my freshman year in high school, I really started thinking about how exactly I was going to do it. I had a self realization that if I wanted to do something with my life, I had to get a head start so that I could be prepared for whatever life had to throw at me. Well, at that time, I told myself I wanted to work with computers because my brother, who was like a father to me, worked in computers as well. So, I started taking apart computers and began researching software, hardware and coding. I didn’t know what exactly I wanted to do with computers, I just thought that was what I wanted to do. And I thought to myself “sweet! I’m getting a headstart in this. This’ll make things easier for me and it will help me be successful”.

Turns out I was wrong. I researched and coded and took apart computers but I noticed I wasn’t really getting anything out of it. “Oh cool, I can build computers now… except… I kinda hated doing it and dealing with it…”

In the end, I started thinking about how my headstart ended up being a waste of time… It took me a while to realize that it wasn’t a waste of time at all. I worked at something, I told myself that I wanted to do this and I did it and it felt good and all, except I didn’t feel that passion that I thought I would. At that point I realized I was back at square one. I had a dream and I had no idea how to accomplish it except now I didn’t have any ideas. I was at a dead end with how I was to go about getting ahead in life.

Moving forward:

Then something happened. Well… to be accurate, a lot of things happened. It just took a while for it all to really start to affect me.

Around the middle of my freshman year, I began to talk to my teacher Mr. Stuart much more often, specifically about how I, myself could become successful. Stuart had a very successful blog of his own and he was well known in the classroom for constantly trying to get the students to think of their future and to be successful. I still wanted a headstart in life and I kept telling myself that Stuart could help me. Well, he helped and gave me advice and all, except they all seemed to be like their own little riddles. At the time, I thought that I understood them but it took me a long while to realize that I was wrong.

The problem wasn’t that I didn’t understand what Stuart meant; I actually understood the meaning behind his words very well. What I didn’t do was act on his words.

One thing that I learned from all those moments is that it wasn’t enough to hear a bunch of fancy quotes and sayings; you could take in a learn as much you want about something, but the knowledge just sits in your head. You want the knowledge to make an impact in your life, but the part that most people don’t realize is that knowledge eventually becomes pointless unless you do something with it. You can spend every waking moment of your life researching on how to be a great cook and a whole bunch of fancy recipes, but if you never cook, if you never take the time to create what you learned, then what’s the point? You have the knowhow, and you have the skill, but the knowledge is just sitting in your head because nothing’s being done. It’s the same case scenario for every inspirational speech that you listen to or all the quotes that you look at. Until you do something about it, you are wasting your time.

The first step:

Throughout the time that I was Stuart’s student, he would constantly talk about being successful, how you would need to do hard things to be successful, how anyone could be successful. He gave examples, speeches, and even ways to start but I never actually took his advice to the point of doing it. It was all just a bunch of knowledge that I had lodged into my brain, thinking that it would do something positive for me.

At one point, everything truly became clear about how I could become successful and the person that I wanted to be.

What I realized is that the thing about becoming successful and why I personally believe that it’s so difficult for others to to become successful is because of one thing. People are afraid to take those first steps towards becoming successful. People are afraid to take the first few steps to doing anything really. What I like to compare it to though, is dozens and dozens of different life situation that we all had to go through.

Being successful isn’t hard. What’s really hard is taking those first steps and then it’s smooth sailing from there. Think of it like when you learned how to ride a bike. You were afraid to take off those training wheels or even get on the bike itself. You were terrified and you didn’t want to have to face getting rid of those training wheels. But the thing about success and accomplishing any tasks you set out for yourself, is that it’s exactly like riding a bike. Because when you first got on that bike you were scared; you didn’t know what to do and you didn’t want to even do it. But when you started… when you set off on that little bike of yours, you felt amazing. You were doing it… you had succeeded in riding that bike. But the thing is, you aren’t going to stop after the first few seconds of riding that bike. You’re going to keep riding and you’re not going to want to stop, because you started, you got that sweet, sweet taste of accomplishment… and you’re going to keep going forward.

Another foot forward:

Being successful in life is like riding a bike. Not many people become successful because they’re too afraid to take that first step. But the people that did become successful, they didn’t let their fear rule them. They took the first step towards being successful… and they got that awesome feeling… and now? Well, they aren’t stopping. They’re gonna keep enjoying that sweet feeling and go along the ride. All it takes to become the person you want to be… is finally taking that first step. Because when you take one step, you are going to take another, and another. Before you know it, you are walking. You are walking towards your goals and you have the momentum and drive to push, and you won’t want to stop. You don’t stop. Once you take those first few steps, you will be able and ready to walk the rest.

About xeromindfulness

I'm nothing but a man looking to be something.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Something Big and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

