Fix what’s broken. Improve what isn’t

The way that I view many life situations is a bit different from others. I’m sure everyone’s heard that old saying “If isn’t broken, then don’t fix it”, but recently I had a bit of a change in views. My teacher always goes on about being successful, pushing yourself and becoming better and I realized that that saying is an excuse to yourself to not becoming better and becoming successful.

For example. Think of a computer. It runs, has decent hardware and isn’t really all that slow. It’s not broken, so why change anything? But why give up the chance to make it better? Make it so that you can run anything on max settings, make it download the biggest things in a second. It sounds sweet right? You’d take that over your average computer anyday.

Now think of it as a person. I for one am a, lets say, a “decent” person. I get good grades, I do my work when I need to, I can read fairly well. I’m decent. I’m sure as heck not broken, so why should I fix anything? Well, truth be told, there’s nothing to fix. What I can do however is improve. Who says that I can’t get better grades? Or give myself work to complete or work to improve my reading level on my own? Or, I can work on something that I flat out don’t do. For instance, I’m a rather large person. I sit on my butt quite often any almost never work out. It’s gotten to the point where I get winded by just going up the stairs. I don’t mind it, I don’t have a problem with who I am (and neither should you) and I sure as hell don’t feel compelled to. But I can. It would make me better. I can improve myself and it’s probably gonna be hard work if I do it, but that’s how you become successful; you push yourself to be better and take on the challenges in your way.

A little food for thought. Just remember that you’re fine the way you are, but hey, if you wanna do something else, all you gotta have is a little grit and determination. There’s no need to fix what isn’t broken, but you can always improve what isn’t broken as well.

(A challenge to all of you out there who feel inspired by this: Chose something that you want to improve yourself on, and I’ll take on my challenge of working out and dropping some weight so that I can improve who I am. Comment what you want to do and I’ll take on mine as well)

About xeromindfulness

I'm nothing but a man looking to be something.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Something Big and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

