Planning for Success

Noah-

One thing that my favorite teacher, whom I look up to a lot, has always told me that I can be successful with hard work. Now that is always the case, but if you’re like for me, getting good grades, getting a decent job and working every day for an earned income and evidently having to spend most of it on bills and food and stuff wasn’t super appealing (except the food, I like food).

One thing that I learned after reading a book (Rich Dad, Poor Dad for Teens by Robert Kiyosaki) was that going head on into a dream of yours or right into the real world is pretty dangerous. Besides mostly financial stuff, I learned that if you aim to be successful in life or chase after a dream of yours, you have to plan ahead and research a little.

I’m 100% all for chasing your dreams and working hard to achieve them, but I personally don’t think that getting straight A’s all year long and getting into a good college will secure a great future. I’m not saying screw your grades over and spend all your time trying to find a way to make money and get a head start on whatever it is that you want to do, but if you intend on truly going after something, it always helps when you do a bit of research on the topic.

Some questions you can ask yourself to get started:

1. Do you really want what it will give you? If your dream is to be a pro gamer, sometimes it’s not always as cracked up to be. Long hours, lot of hate from the public, the game itself stops being fun when you’re forced to play. Sometimes what you want isn’t actually what you want.

2. Will you gain anything from it? If you goal is to become super freakin rich, like billionaire rich, make sure that you don’t focus so hard on it that you end up losing the things important to you in the process of getting it. Yeah you’ll be rich, but if you lose your wife/husband/girlfriend/boyfriend/whatever and all your friends and it got your whole family killed in the process, then it probably isn’t really worth it. Remember, your happiness should be the top of your priority list!  

3. Is it achievable? Let’s be honest, some things are just either impossible or statiscally incredibly hard to do. If your dream is to be the first man on Venus, well…that’s gonna be kinda hard. Considering the fact you’ll probably die in the attempt, seeing as it’s a ball of poisonous gas. When choosing a goal to chase and work hard for, make sure that you can actually do it!

4. How can you start? You may be thinking something like “oh, I have no money. How do I start anything if I can’t afford what I need?”. First of all, everyone started out small, not many people that you hear about everyday started with everything they needed to be a big shot. Steve Jobs, the co-founder of Apple started tinkering around with stuff in his garage. Like my band director always said, if there’s a will there’s a way. You can’t have the mindset of “I can’t do it”. That stops all process of getting it done and it’s over at that instant! What you need to think is “How can I do it?”. Because of that thought, your mind starts working and you take the first step to getting what you want.

I hope that one day everyone can be successful. What your definition of successfulness is up to you, but I hope that one day you’ll be able to achieve it. Just remember to be smart about what you chase after. Nothing hurts more than an unthought-out decision.

About xeromindfulness

I'm nothing but a man looking to be something.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Something Big and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

